Select Page

About Us

Saint Paul Blackhawks Soccer Club


Viktor Adamcsek

Executive Director

DOC Competitive

Prior to 2001, Viktor played professional soccer for MTK Hungary and Kecskemet F.C. He played for the Hungarian National Team between the ages U13-16 and collected a total of 26 international caps against teams, including Scotland, Russia, Italy, Cyprus, and Sweden. He is a five time Youth Hungarian National Champion, and the winner of two Gothia Cups (1993, 1995) and one USA Cup (1997).Viktor graduated from the University of Minnesota in 2005 and received a master’s degree in sports management in March of 2007. Viktor was the assistant varsity coach at Spring Lake Park High School (2004-2006, women), head coach of Hopkins Hatari (2004-2006, U16-U18G) and Northern Lights (2007, U17B), assistant women’s coach at St. Olaf College (2007-2012), and Cretin Derham Hall Men’s Varsity Coach (2012 to 2015). Viktor’s deep experience in playing and coaching, combined with his passion and dedication for the game, will help the club in its journey to become one of the best youth soccer clubs in the state and the country.

Brian Catrine

DOC Juniors

Brian was a member of the University of Minnesota Men’s Club Team and competed in 2 NSCAA National Championships in 1997 and 1998. He has over 20 years of coaching experience and has been with Blackhawks since 2012 as a Coach, Board Member, and Director of Coaching for the Juniors Program.  In addition to his passion for soccer, Brian is also heavily involved in futsal both locally and nationally.  He is currently the Executive Director for United States Youth Futsal (USYF) as well as an International Coach for the organization.  He has been selected to coach teams in Argentina, Portugal, and Spain which competed in International Friendlies against local youth academies and national youth teams.  Brian is also a National Futsal Instructor with USYF.  Brian has earned his USSF National Youth License, USC National and Advanced National Diplomas, USC Goalkeeper 1 certification, USC Futsal Certification, and USYF International License

Chris Scanlon

DOC Developmental

Chris played on the University of Minnesota Men’s Club Team, was Club President from 1999-2001, and coach from 2002-2007. Chris has been a Men’s varsity soccer coach at Mounds View High School since 2002, an Olympic Development Player Coach since 2006, and has coached with numerous clubs across the state. Chris has worked in education since 2004, currently as a Behavior Manager at Mounds View High School. Chris has earned the USSF B License, the USSF National Youth License, the NSCAA Advanced National Diploma, the NSCAA Director of Coaching Diploma, the NSCAA Goalkeeping Regional Diploma and has completed NHSF Coaching and First Aid Certification.

Chris brings a wealth of high level playing, coaching and training experience to Blackhawks, in addition to years of coaching Blackhawk teams. We are excited to bring Chris’s training skills to our youngest players, helping the club to fulfill our mission of developing stronger, more competitive teams in the future.

Fitsum Tegene

Fitsum has been with Blackhawks Soccer Club since 2012, coaching several successful teams and is currently an assistant coach with Augsburg University men’s soccer program. Fitsum was raised in London, which is where his experience, skill and philosophy stems from. He has playing experience in two different countries, but was forced to retire early due to a back injury. He holds coaching Licenses from Union of European Football Association (UEFA) and United States Soccer Federation (USSF). Fitsum is the founder and program director at Future stars Soccer Association, an organization that focus on enhancing the lives of youth living in inner-city communities through soccer. Fitsum Earned his bachelor’s degree in Finance and pursuing a master’s degree In Information Management System.

John Swallen

Born and raised in MN, John graduated from Breck School 1983 with All Conference and All State honors. Graduated with a BA in Physical Education from Ripon College in WI.  All-Conference Goalkeeper 1984-86.  Div. III All-State 1985 & 1986.  Starting keeper for MN Men’s State Select 1985-93.  Member of Region II Men’s Soccer team 1989-93.  Member of US Men’s National “B” Team 1993.  Starting goalkeeper for MN Thunder Pro Soccer Team 1990-2001.  A-League MVP 1999.  League Champions 1999. 

Owned and operated Mini-Kickers, Inc. teaching soccer to 3-5 year olds at local childcare facilities 1989-2015.  Varsity Girls Soccer Coach Mounds View High School 2000-2009.  Owned and operated The Wall, LLC. teaching goalkeeper skills 2005-2015.  Goalkeeper director MTA Soccer Club 2010-2018.  National “B” coaching license 2017.  Head coach U17/19 Boys US Development Academy MTA Soccer Club 2017/18.   Coach and goalkeeping director St Paul Blackhawks 2019-present.

Physical Education teacher at Breck School.  Married to Tami Swallen and father to six kids.  

Alyssa Arredondo

Alyssa joined Blackhawks in 2019 as a part-time Club Administrator, having left Corporate America after 20+ years. Her three kids have all played with Blackhawks (two are still with the club). Alyssa has coached since 2007 and holds a USSF D License. Experience includes U9-U18 boys and girls for Lakes United FC, Blackhawks, and St. Paul Central JV Boys.
In her youth, she played competitive travel soccer in Washington state (River City Steelers and Spokane Skyhawks), Varsity all four years in high school and named to the All-City team. Play continued while living in France (co-ed soccer in college) and then with men’s and co-ed leagues in California while in graduate school. After moving to MN in 1999, she played co-ed soccer with CSC Sports.
Alyssa holds a BA in French and a Master’s Degree in International Marketing,

Rob Spence

Serving in virtually every capacity available over the last 10 years, Rob will be spending his final year with the club assisting Alyssa with club administrative duties and organizing the inaugural Capital Classic Tournament in the spring.

Rob’s roles with the club have included coach, team mananager, age group coordinator, board of directors member at large and president.
His career has spanned a spectrum of roles and industires – from marketing communications for Fortune 500 companies to ice cream truck operator to pre-napster music industry flunky to soccer apparel sales. (Not in that order)
Currently, apart from his duties with the club, he is busy as a professional photographer, freelance designer and a co-founder of the new Minnesota Women’s Soccer team.
Rob holds a degree in Communications from the University of St. Thomas is married to Christina, has two current Hawks … and is moving to Chicago in the summer of 2022. 🙁


Board of Directors

President (term ends Nov 2022)
Heidi Staloch
[email protected]

Secretary (term ends Nov 2024)
Orsi England (term ends Nov 2024)
[email protected]

Treasurer (term ends Nov 2023)
Jeff Ellerd
[email protected]

President Emeritus
Rob Spence
[email protected]


Directors At-Large

Elected or appointed to represent the whole membership

Ben Exley (term ends Nov 2022)
[email protected]

Johan Boysen (term ends Nov 2023)
[email protected]

Brandon Harris (term ends Nov 2023)
[email protected]

Open Seat (term ends Nov 2023)

BJ Stevens (term ends Nov 2024)
[email protected]

Pratik Ray (term ends Nov 2024)
[email protected]